How do I share Projects?
You can share your Projects with other SEMrush users...
When you first create a new Project
Through the Projects dashboard to share an existing Project
When you create a new Project, there is a checkbox asking if you’d like to share the Project with another SEMrush user. Hit this checkbox.
The next window will ask you to enter the email address associated with the account you’re sharing with. Then, if you are a Business level subscriber you can choose whether to share the Project with “read-only” or “edit” access (all other subscription levels will only be able to share with “edit” access).
To share an existing Project, go to your Projects dashboard. At the top and to the right of your dashboard, notice a "Share your projects" button.
Once you click this button, you will notice a pop-up appear that will ask you to fill out the field to enter the user you wish to grant access and the Project you'd like to share. You can share this project with multiple people, just enter each individual email.
Your ability to share Projects with other SEMrush users depends on the level of your account and the level of the account that you want to share the Project with.
Business level subscribers can share Projects with free and paid users. Keep in mind sharing projects with free users is for “read-only” mode.
Pro and Guru level subscribers can share Projects in “edit” mode to other paid accounts only. "Read-only" can only be shared from Business accounts.
“Edit” mode can only be shared from one paid account (Pro, Guru, or Business) to another paid account (Pro, Guru, or Business). “Edit” mode is not available for users on the free level.
Projects Shared with You
If you are the recipient of a shared Project, you can view all of the Projects you are shared on by going to your Projects dashboard and selecting the “shared with me” tab.
You can leave a Project that’s been shared with you by opening the settings gear next to the Project. If the Project was shared with you with “edit” access, you can also edit the name of the Project or delete the Project here.
Please note: if you delete a Project that was shared with you, it will be deleted from the original account that shared it with you as well. So be careful to not delete your coworker’s Project. If you want to leave a Project without deleting it from the original account, select “leave project.”
Please note: this tab is only visible to corporate account owners and admins.
Under the “Admin” tab of this dash, the owner of a corporate account will be able to see all of the Projects created by the users and will be able to access them in edit mode.
Admins of the corporate account will be able to see all of the Projects created by users and view them in read-only mode, unless a user shares that Project with the Admin in edit mode.
As an owner or an admin of a corporate account with multiple users, you have the ability to distribute units to each user under the subscription plan. However, you should be strategic in the way you distribute units because of how they work.
Please note that in a shared Project, units that relate to Project tools such as crawled pages (Site Audit), keywords to track (Position Tracking), social profiles (Social Media Toolkit), and SEO Ideas units (On Page SEO Checker) will all be taken from the user that owns the Project.
So if a Project is created by Randy and Randy shares it with Joe with “edit” access, when Joe edits the Project it will take units from Randy’s account.
Therefore, you need to distribute the subscription units to the user on your team that will be the Project owner.
For more explanation, read this article.